And on the first day…we rest?

Good Morning y’all!  I hope your days are off to a fabulous start!  Mine has started off slow but will be kicking into high gear as soon as I hit “publish” on this post!

 

Happy First official day of half-marathon training for me!  After hitting the snooze button for an hour, yes you read that right an hour, I finally made it to the gym around 8:00…an hour late but Hey! at least I made it right?  The training plan I’m following calls for Monday’s to be stretching and strength training days with my first run coming tomorrow!  I started with 20 minutes of cardio on the elliptical and kept it super light while I read some of the blogs I love.  After finishing up on the elliptical I moved on over to the weight room for the strength portion of the day.  I’m honestly not very strong and I can’t lift heavy weight for long periods of time but I did what I could do and that is all that matters!  I did 3 sets of 8 reps on the shoulder, lat press and then some machine I’m not sure the name of but I was feelin’ the burn!  I moved to the weighted pull up/dip machine and did 6 sets of 8 reps! I also did some ab work on the crunch bench thing that I’m also not sure what the name is!  I’ll remember to read the names of the machines next time so I don’t sound like such a tard 🙂  Stretching was the last part of my 50 minute workout and it might just be my favorite of any workout!  I love the feeling of your muscles stretching as you push yourself further into a stretch!  I also made sure to use my new best friend the foam roller to help with the pressure in my calves!  And that was the end of my first workout!  I didn’t work up as much as a sweat as I usually do when I hit the gym but I left feeling good and excited!

 

And now breakfast time!  I usually like to eat earlier in the morning so I can cram in a lunch before I go to work but because of my late start everything is getting a little pushed back which means I’m only now eating breakfast!  It’s already getting pretty hot in southern California (we’ve been going through one heck of a heat wave) so I opted for a cold break fast!  Hello peanut butter and banana protein smoothie!

cold deliciousness

I most followed Julie’s recipe from Peanut Butter Fingers but becasue I was out of milk substituted plain yogurt to get things going!  I’m not one to experiment in the kitchen and I was nervous how it would taste but boy was it delicious!  I’ve gotta jam!  I need to hop in the shower and make myself presentable before this closing shift at work!  See y’all later with a dinner recap!  Monday night football tonight!  Go Broncos!

Leave a Reply

