A hot day means a smoothie for lunch!

So much for the first day of fall bringing cooler weather to the Southern California region.  It was another scorcher today.  Truth be told, I don’t like doing anything when it’s hot out and that includes eating hot food.  I prefer to stick with sandwiches, salads, sushi and smoothies on summer days.  For lunch I opted for a strawberry banana smoothie to cool my insides down! Such a simple smoothie but so delicious.  In the blender, I combined fresh strawberries and banana’s, vanilla yogurt and a bunch of ice cubes!

blend baby, blend

I’m considering purchasing investing in a Vitamix blender.  I’ve heard nothing but rave reviews for it and considering the time it takes for my little blender to churn out a smoothie I think it would be worth it because when I want a smoothie I want it right this second.

cold and yummy

Definitely a good lunch choice!

 

This evenings post was inspired by Claire who posted about her fall bucket list!  I just did a bucket list for life in general but I have some cute-sy ideas for a fall inspired one and like I said, I like making lists and I like crossing things off that list so why not make a fall inspired bucket list! Time to round up the troops and go apple picking!  I don’t even know if we have apple farms in Southern California but I’m about to find out! I did make it to the gym this afternoon but kept it light and only did 20 minutes on the elliptical followed by a 15 minute quick ab workout brought to me by the Nike training app!  I’m suppose to run three miles tomorrow as part of my training plan and hopefully I’ll be feeling well enough to run. Well, I’m off to watch friends and eat spaghetti with my roomie, see ya in the morning!

Do you have any fall related “bucket list” things?!

 

8 thoughts on “A hot day means a smoothie for lunch!

  1. Seriously, isn’t the weather around here supposed to be cooler! I still feel like I’m in a sauna during the day.
    That smoothie looks amazing…makes me crave jamba juice — wish it wasn’t so $$$ ! 😛

    • we had such a cool beginning of summer I think the weather is making up for that right now! Don’t get me wrong I love jamba but they are overpriced and not exactly healthy, at home smoothies can be equally as delicious and so much healthier!

  2. You went apple picking already!! So jealous. Apples are one of my favorite fruits and are the BEST right after you pick em. I’ll be double jealous if you get a Vitamix too, but I say definitely do it. I’ve only heard good things and it’s such a good investment!

  3. I’m so excited you got moved in! If it makes you feel any better, apparently the great temperatures we were experiencing last week have evaporated. It’s going to be 93 today!

Leave a Reply

