Leggo my Eggo!

Today I woke up feeling a hundred times better! Amazing what antibiotics, sleep and countless episodes of Friends can do for the body!  I woke up craving and I mean craving waffles.  It might have been Courtney’s post the other day about pumpkin waffles but something this morning told my body I needed waffles and I needed them RIGHT NOW and you know me, I don’t ignore cravings.  So I had waffles..Two whole grain waffles from Trader Joe’s topped with maple syrup and banana slices.  Boy were these babies d-e-l-i-c-i-o-u-s (sing that to the tune for Glamorous by Fergie 😉 )

 

25 Diet Busting Foods You Should Never Eat

I was reading that article on Health.com today and I was surprised to find food I considered “healthy” or healthier options on that list.  I wasn’t surprised to see foods like a Coldstone PB&C Shake, or a Cinnabon Cinnamon roll but I was surprised to see foods like Arnolds whole grain country white bread and Quaker Natural Granola, both foods which to me sound healthy…I mean whole grain and natural sound like pretty healthy adjectives so why wouldn’t the foods that contain them be healthy as well?  It got me thinking though, are these foods “un-healthy” because of stats and not just how we eat them?  If that is the case then any food we consume, within reason, could be deemed un-healthy.  For example, if you consume just vegetables, an all around accepted healthy food, then you’re robbing your body of other nutrients.  So, why can’t I enjoy Arnolds whole grain country white bread and not have it bust up my diet?  Brings me to moderation, something I struggle with on the the daily.  I could easily consume 5 or 6 waffles instead of the two I had for breakfast this morning, yes they’re whole grain and on the healthier side but eating 5 or 6 then puts them on the un-healthy side.  I constantly struggle with eating in moderation.  I have a hard time not devouring an entire burrito bowl from Chipotle or just having one Oreo out of the package, but I’m slowly training myself to eat responsibly and to enjoy half a burrito bowl and know that I’ll have the other half for tomorrow’s lunch, or have two oreos and then a bowl of fruit to fill me up instead of having ten oreos.  I don’t believe in diet busting foods.  I believe that you should be able to eat whatever you want and enjoy it, with moderation.

Do you believe certain foods should be complete “no-no’s” or do you think everything can be enjoyed in moderation?

2 thoughts on “Leggo my Eggo!

  1. Ooo, tough question. For me, I found the “everything in moderation” approach works well, especially when it comes to treats like wine and dark chocolate. 😉 I know if I completely deny myself these foods, then I’m only setting myself up to overeat later. However, when I’m training for a race, my eating habits change. I know which types of food my body responds well to, and which kinds of food I should avoid; and about two weeks from race-day, I follow a very “clean” eating plan. Overall, though, life’s too short to pass up good food. 🙂

  2. I’m all about the moderation. However, only certain things. I try to eat pretty clean and steer clear of most unhealthy “bad” foods. I tend to save my moderation for sweet foods, aka froyo. Foods like fried, chicken tenders, mozzarella sticks-they don’t do it for me and I find it really easy to avoid them. But put me in a froyo store…and it’s trouble.

Leave a Reply

