Self Esteem Sunday!

I’m popping in before my workout because I’m just so excited to share this post with y’all!  Natalie inspired tonights post, she’s been doing “Self Esteem Saturdays” over on her blog and she has been so inspiring and incredible about sharing her struggles.  I won’t tell you what they are so that you can read them for yourselves!  But first, let’s talk food! Dinner tonight was from the cafe…again.  You’re probably sick of hearing about the Nordy’s cafe but seriously I can’t say enough good things about how delicious it is and it isn’t even because I work there! Kids sized pasta with tomato sauce and lots of cheese! I’m beginning to think I’m the worst photographer ever.  My goal for this week: take photos of my food so it actually looks appetizing.  I don’t know what it is about this pasta but I probably could eat it for every meal.  That, and the tomato basil soup are on point.  I also enjoyed a large iced coffee and one of these…Nordstrom chocolate chip cookie!  After hitting publish on this post I’ll be hittin’ up the gym!

 

Self Esteem Sunday

After reading Natalie’s post about her struggles with looking at the scale I began to think about how the scale affects my life.  Since beginning this journey to run a half marathon I’ve made changes to my lifestyle that include eating better and obviously, working out.  I didn’t expect to drop weight instantly but I would be lying if I didn’t say I’ve been disappointed that I don’t look a certain way.  I’ve never been one to focus on the scale but lately without even thinking I’ve been finding myself stepping on the scale at the gym every time I’m there to work out.  I’ve even found myself stepping on scales if they’re in my friends bathrooms.  I keep focusing on that number.  I’ve let the number on the scale determine if I feel I had a successful workout that evening.  I’ve even gone as far as letting it determine my mood for the rest of the day.  What I’m failing to notice though is how I’m feeling.  How much healthier I feel, how much more energy I have.  My clothes even fit loser even though I’m not lowering that number.  Somehow that doesn’t cross my mind when I step on the scale…all I’m seeing is that number screaming at me.  So, inspired by Natalie, I’ve decided to step away from the scale.  For one week I’m pledging to myself and all of y’all to not step on the scale, to focus on how I feel instead of that number.  I’ll check in mid week to let y’all know how it’s going! Off to the gym for a scale-free workout.  See ya in the morning! 🙂

6 thoughts on “Self Esteem Sunday!

  1. You’ve got this, Kelsey! Even though the number on the scale isn’t changing, you’re doing a good job of focusing on how much better you feel and how you’ve developed healthier habits. When I trained for my half-marathon this summer, I’d guess I actually gained weight in terms of muscle mass–you need some serious leg power to tackle 13.1 miles. 😉

    • I’ve always been a believer in “muscle weighs more than fat” and I’m trying to remember that when I’m not seeing the scale move or when it goes up! Skinny legs aren’t going to get my through 13.1 miles, I’m going to need a ton of muscle! Thanks for the encouragement Carrie! 🙂

  2. I’m so proud of you, girlie! I’m so glad you’re recognizing it BEFORE it becomes a huge problem. You can do it!! P.S. don’t worry about your photography….I still have a long way to go in that department too!

    • I wouldn’t have been able to recognize it if you weren’t so awesome at sharing your struggles! Thank you for the encouragement to face this head on 🙂 I like to blame my awful photography on the fact I’m using my iPhone, maybe it’s time I invest in a blog camera!

      • 🙂 I’m definitely going to have to invest in one before too long! Maybe I should work on investing in an iPhone…I haven’t even made that step yet!

Leave a Reply

