That is going to be a PR nightmare…

It might just be because I LOOOVE sports but this week I’ve been captivated by the saga of Lance Armstrong and the story of Manti Te’o and his “girlfriend”.  In case you live under a rock have a lot going on in your life and aren’t up to speed let me give you a brief synopsis. Lance, who for year has denied doping, is finally coming clean on using performance enhancing drugs to help him win his Tour De France victories. Manti Te’o, a linebacker for the Notre Dame Fighting Irish, has opened up to the media about falling victim to a hoax in which his girlfriend, who supposedly died from Leukemia in October, never existed. Okay, I suck at summing it up. Google it and you’ll get links for days telling you the whole story.  I have to say this has got to be one of the cruelest, twisted, saddest, and confusing stories I have ever heard.  I mean talk about some hoax, right?  According to ND Manti is a victim, but this has got to be a nightmare for them, he captured so many hearts after the story broke of losing his girlfriend and then playing a phenomenal game.  I’m sure they’re over there trying to figure out how to sort this out.  Also, I’m super curious to see what else comes to light in the coming weeks and if Manti had anything to do with it to boost his name (I like to believe all people are good and that he DID NOT do this to get his name out there and that he is merely a victim of a sick joke.) And now back to you regular scheduled blogging…

Sloppy Joe’s and a special visit!

Happy Friday everyone!  Today was originally suppose to be my day off but with a scheduled visit from the Nordstrom brothers themselves it was all hands on deck and I ended up working a mid shift!  I started the day with a nice and sweaty run.  It’s finally warming up around here, it was down in the low 30’s in the mornings, and an outdoor run was calling to me!  I covered a little under 3 miles in about a half hour!  I’m trying to work up to covering farther distances but I’m nervous to push myself to far as I don’t want to re injure myself!  Breakfast was an un-photographed honey Chobani with a banana on the side!  Simple yet good.  I knew I’d be off early enough to make myself a good dinner tonight and I brainstormed some ideas while working.  Sloppy Joes kept popping up in my head and I knew I needed to make them!  They always remind me of my childhood as my family would eat them at least once a week! For tonight’s sloppy joes I adapted a recipe from Julie and made it my own!  In the pan went half an onion and a pound of ground beef.  I cooked it until all the meat was browned.  A little grease drainage after and it was time to make them sloppy joes.  I added salt, pepper, paprika, garlic salt and a small spoonful of brown suger, a splash of apple cider vinegar and some ketchup!  Delish!

sloppy goodness

sloppy goodness

Served with a side of chipotle Alexia sweet potato fries and some un-pictured carrots I ate!  Plans for the rest of the evening include whipping up a batch of oreo dream cupcakes and catching up on a bunch of DVR’d shows, mainly the Bachelor! Team Kacie B! Enjoy your night friends!

Adapted Sloppy Joes

  • 1 pound ground beef
  • 1/2 onion, chopped
  • Spice mixture (choose YOUR favorites)
  • 1/2 cup apple cider vinegar
  • squirt of ketchup

Brown onions and beef, drain grease.  On low heat add spices, apple cider vinegar, ketchup. Mix until all combined. Enjoy!

Question for you:  Do you think Manti Te’o was a victim of a sick joke or do you think he played a bigger part in it?

 

4 thoughts on “That is going to be a PR nightmare…

  1. This entire Manti Te’o story is SO bizarre! I cannot stop reading about and watching it. At this point in time, it is so hard to tell if he was always involved in the hoax or at what point in time he became involved. ESPN must be loving their ratings this week!

    • It’s such a bizarre story! And if he truly was a victim of a hoax, it’s incredibly sad! I’m sure they are totally loving ratings right now! I just read that they will be interviewing him about this sometime this week. There taking this story and running it all the way to the ratings bank! haha!

Leave a Reply

